Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.
Team Sports

Twitter Erupts As Newcomers Gujarat Titans Win IPL 2022 Title By Defeating Inaugural Champions Rajasthan Royals

The final of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2022) was played between Hardik Pandya-led Gujarat Titans (GT) and Sanju Samson-led Rajasthan Royals (RR) at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad on Sunday, May 29th.

Newcomers Gujarat Titans won the Indian Premier League 2022 championship in their first season by defeating inaugural champions Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets in front of their home crowd.

IPL 2022 Auction | IPL 2022 Teams | IPL News and Updates | IPL 2022 Schedule | ICC Teams Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Earlier, Rajasthan Royals won the toss and opted to bat first in the match and they fielded an unchanged playing XI. On the other hand, the Gujarat Titans got what they wanted as Hardik Pandya said that they wanted to bowl first. Also, the Gujarat Titans made one change to the playing XI as Lockie Ferguson replaced Alzarri Joseph.

Image – BCCI / IPL

Senior pacer Mohammed Shami opened the attack for Gujarat Titans against the Rajasthan Royals’ opening duo of Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal and conceded 2 runs in the over.

Left-arm pacer Yash Dayal got the first breakthrough for Gujarat Titans in the 4th over by dismissing young batter Yashasvi Jaiswal. The young opener scored 22 runs off 16 balls, including 1 four and 2 sixes. At the end of the powerplay, Rajasthan Royals were at 44/1.

Hardik Pandya picked the second wicket of the match by dismissing Rajasthan Royals captain Sanju Samson in the 9th over. Samson scored 14 runs off 11 balls, including 2 fours.

Devdutt Padikkal played a poor 2-run knock off 10 balls before getting out in the 12th over. Also, Pandya picked his second wicket of the match by dismissing orange cap holder Jos Buttler in the 13th over. Buttler scored 39 runs off 35 balls, including 5 fours.

Hardik Pandya.  Photo-IPL
Hardik Pandya. Photo-IPL

After that, Shimron Hetmyer, Ravichandran Ashwin and Riyan Parag failed to perform well and Rajasthan Royals were able to score 130/9 in 20 overs.

Chasing the target, Gujarat Titans lost the wickets of Wriddhiman Saha and Matthew Wade in the powerplay itself as the former was dismissed by Prasidh Krishna and Wade was dismissed by Trent Boult. At the end of the powerplay, the Gujarat Titans were at 31-2.

GT skipper Hardik Pandya and opener Shubman Gill added 63 runs in 53 balls before the former was dismissed by Yuzvendra Chahal in the 14th over for 34.

In the end, Shubman Gill finished things off in style by smashing a brilliant six. Gill scored 45 runs off 43 balls, including 3 fours and 1 six. Also, David Miller played an amazing knock of 32 runs off 19 balls, including 3 fours and 1 six.

Here’s How Twitter Reacted To IPL 2022 Final Between Gujarat Titans (GT) And Rajasthan Royals (RR):


Also Read: IPL 2022: IPL Sets Guinness World Record, Launches Largest Cricket Jersey Sized 66 * 42 Meters

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | T20 World Cup Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button